## Second Annual Heartland International Conference On Climate Change

The world's elite climate scientists will be among the keynoters and presenters at the second annual International Conference on Climate Change March 8-10, 2009 in New York City.

Headliners among the 70-plus scientists will be:

- William Gray, Colorado State University, leading researcher into tropical weather research.
- Richard Lindzen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, one of the world's leading students of dynamic meteorology, especially planetary waves.
- Stephen McIntyre, primary author of Climate Audit, a blog devoted to the analysis and discussion of climate data. He is a devastating critic of the temperature record of the past 1,000 years, particularly the work of Michael E. Mann, creator of the infamous "hockey stick" graph. That graph--thoroughly discredited in scientific circles--supposedly proved that mankind is responsible for a sharp increase in greenhouse gases.
- Arthur Robinson, curator of the Oregon Institute of Science & Medicine petition signed by more than 32,000 American scientists, including more than 10,000 with doctorate degrees, rejecting the alarmist assertion that global warming has put the Earth in crisis and is caused primarily by mankind.
- Willie Soon, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics.
- Roy Spencer, University of Alabama at Huntsville, principal research scientist and team leader on NASA's Aqua satellite.
- A complete list of confirmed speakers appears below.

The theme of the conference is "Global Warming Crisis: Cancelled. Was it ever really a crisis?" The title reflects (a) the shift in scientific understanding toward the skeptics' perspective, (b) the defeat of the Lieberman-Warner cap-and-trade bill in the U.S. Senate in July, (c) rising public opinion opposing global warming alarmism, and (d) rising energy and food prices around the world.

The second annual International Conference on Climate Change is being produced by The Heartland Institute. Registration information and news about the topics and presenters can be found at www.heartland.org.

A 13 percent discount from the regular registration fee of \$720 is available for a limited time. Registration includes program updates, tickets to five meals at plenary sessions, admission to all panels, conference proceedings, and refreshments at all sessions.

In addition, Heartland has reserved a block of rooms at the conference hotel, the Marriott Marquis Times Square Hotel, at a special conference rate.

Among the confirmed speakers:

Syun Akasofu University of Alaska Fairbanks

Dennis Avery Hudson Institute

Joseph L. Bast The Heartland Institute

Robert Bradley Institute for Energy Research

Bob Carter James Cook University (Australia)

Frank Clemente Penn State University

John Coleman KUSI-TV, San Diego

William Cotton Colorado State University

Joe D'Aleo International Climate and Environmental Change Assessment Project

David Douglass University of Rochester

Terry Dunleavy International Climate Science Coalition

Myron Ebell Competitive Enterprise Institute

Christopher Essex University of Western Ontario

Robert Ferguson Science and Public Policy Institute

Michelle Foss University of Texas, Center for Energy Economics

William Gray Colorado State University Fred Goldberg Royal School of Technology (Sweden)

Laurence Gould University of Hartford

Chris Horner Competitive Enterprise Institute

Craig Idso Center for the Study of Carbon Dioxide and Global Change

Sam Kazman Competitive Enterprise Institute

David Legates University of Delaware

Jay Lehr The Heartland Institute

Marlo Lewis Competitive Enterprise Institute

Richard Lindzen Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Keith Lockitch Ayn Rand Institute

Anthony Lupo University of Missouri

Stephen McIntyre Climate Audit

Ross McKitrick University of Guelph (Canada)

Christopher Monckton Science and Public Policy Institute

Jim O'Brien Florida State University

Tim Patterson Carleton University (Canada)

Benny Peiser Liverpool John Moores University (United Kingdom) Paul Reiter Pasteur Institute (France)

Arthur Robinson Oregon Institute of Science and Medicine

Joel Schwartz American Enterprise Institute

Fred Singer Science and Environmental Policy Project

Fred Smith Competitive Enterprise Institute

Lawrence Solomon The National Post (Canada)

Willie Soon Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

Roy Spencer University of Alabama in Huntsville

George Taylor Oregon State University

James M. Taylor The Heartland Institute

Jan Veizer University of Ottawa (Canada)

Anthony Watts SurfaceStations.org